The Plot Thickens

I’ve been getting some more press for my copyright battle on YouTube, in English and German, and last night the United with Israel site invited me to do a blog post about all this for them. RECAP: BR Enter Music, speaking for the German National Library (DNB), had my documentary, You don’t know Hitler (2006), removed from YouTube because they claimed I was used the Nazi Anthem (the Horst Wessel Song) without permission. Today, however, I woke up to find that the DNB was denying any connection to BR Enter Music on Twitter.

dnb-torrentfreak-tweets

I emailed YouTube to tell them this and to asked that my film be reinstated. I also told them that this proves their system for dealing with copyright claims is inadequate and unfair. I have not heard back from them yet. I also have not heard directly from DNB or BR Enter Music, both of whom I emailed repeatedly when this affair began, and both of whom I tweeted today.

I am confident now that You don’t know Hitler will be returning to YouTube but the underlying issues remain: 1) Why are Nazi copyright claims considered valid, and 2) Why doesn’t YouTube have a more intelligent system for dealing with these questions?

Leave a Reply

