That’s the America I know

Did you hear President Obama’s remarks at the Dallas Police Memorial yesterday? If not, you should.

Also check out former President Bush’s remarks.

Both men have done on good job, on many occasions, trying to appeal to the best in us, and trying to be hopeful about America; because there is plenty to be hopeful about! And both have been maligned beyond any reasonable measure. Almost instantly President Bush was attacked for, “dancing during the memorial service,” with keyboard pundits questioning his intelligence and drug use. How dare he be moved by the music – the Battle Hymn of the Republic – as people often are, particularly in southern church traditions. And check out this small sampling of YouTube comments below President Obama’s speech:

comments on Pres Obama's speach 7-12-2016

Fear, hatred, attack, attack! Nonsense, unfounded accusations, fight, fight, fight! The mindset of some people is just pathetic. But I’m not going to let the terminal fools among us get me down. Anymore than I will let a hateful mass murder get me down. It is obvious that we, as a whole, are much better than this. I see it everyday in the people I interact with; those I love and those I hardly even know. There are hundreds of millions of people in this country doing for more good than harm every single day. Hundreds of millions of people living lives that don’t make, “the news.” I believe, as Anne Frank once put it, during far more desperate times than ours: “Despite everything, I believe that people are really good at heart.”

How about this for a thought: Stop complaining and be grateful for what you have. Stop passing judgement on others and start listening to them. Don’t give into your worst self, even on social media, and do onto others as you would have them do onto you. If we try to do that, even a little, America’s best days will continue to be head of us.

Okay, I’ll get off my soapbox now and get back to work.

One thought on “That’s the America I know

Leave a Reply

