JKL 2yrs old

Today is my birthday; 44. Not quite pushing 50 but the push will be here before you know it. What happened to that little boy in the 70s, or even that twenty-something man in the 90s? How could I have lived for this long already? You think strange things on your birthday – philosophical, metaphysical things, meaning of life type things – or at least I do. And you imagine that you are going to stumble upon some profound and new revelations that aren’t there to be found. If I have learned anything in my last four plus decades (mostly in the last six years, since becoming a father) it is the fact that many of the old cliches are true. There is nothing new under the sun, life is short, time flies, you can’t go home again and you can’t take it with you, live in the moment, appreciate what you have, do unto others as you would have them do unto you, etc.

I’ve decided to spend this day reflecting on life and relaxing in one of my favorite places, the movie theater. I can’t even remember the last film I saw in a theater but today I plan on hitting Steve Jobs (2015) and The Martian (2015), both of which I have been anticipating for awhile. I’ll let you know if they live up to my expectations.

Hope your day is a good one too,
JKL

Share your thoughts and questions:

